2005-01-25 - 1:52 a.m.

The company where I do whatever it is that I do wants me to work until 11:00 pm now. I�ve done it before, and it�s not fun. I usually work from 1:00 to 9:30 or so, and that�s pretty good timing for some stuff, but crappy unless you rock out on the town every night, which I don�t.

The last time I worked 11:00 shifts, I still had to keep to eight hours a day, and work a 3:00 to 11:00. It was fun to have a few daylight hours to myself, but it also sucked a lot.

This time around, I found a way to convince them to let me do this:

Tuesday-Thursday 1:00 to 11:00 (10 hours), Frinday 1:00 to 9:00 (like normal, eight hours), and since we need to run the late shift, I�m assuming I�ll get a few OT hours on Saturday, even though I�m only coming in at 38 hours for the work week.

I like this.

I had today off, a Monday. A random, arbitrary Monday. I couldn�t even get used to it, going out and doing stuff when everyone else was at work.

The Roommate took the day off of work because of the snow, so we hung out.

We went to the usually chaotic Cambridgeside Galleria so I could get my hair cut. I was amazed, when we entered, that I had a clear view from one end to the other.

The first thing I found out about having a weekday off is that apparently, annoying people don�t have jobs except for to get in my way. I�ve always given these people the benefit of the doubt, and blamed it on the fact that it�s crowded. No. It�s not the crowd. Some people are as ignorant as ignorant people like to think of other people. I learned this lesson over and over and over and over again, all day long, as I�ve been learning it my whole life.

I do not control the universe.

I got my hair shorn by a woman that, where it�s customary to ask if it�s okay to use the clippers on the back, asked if it was okay to use the machine.

I never find out if haircuts are okay until a few days after, but I knew then and there what I was getting into.

Oh, and the Roommate and I got massages from a weird unmanned chairs that cost a buck, and it felt like there were secret little men behind the chairs that weren�t entirely sold on the idea of sustaining the mystery of the massage chair. It was relaxing and unnerving.

Then we caught the wave to Kendall, where we struggled through the snow in order to spend a few hours at the pool hall there with the unfortunate name, and I hit all my trick shots, and won the tiebreaker too.

We got home and I made her watch Napoleon Dynamite. Finally. I can stop taunting her with quotes from the movie and move into the part of my life where I amuse her with quotes from the movie.

From there to ZuZu to see Milo Jones and Rick Berlin, and the last guy was just as good too, and it was really awesome intense music for hours and I came home with two Milo Jones CDs.

And now I�m done with Monday.


Listening to: Stephen Malkmus
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie