2005-02-03 - 4:20 a.m.

Oh, I�m wiling away my last few hours before bed listening to OngekendTalent.nl. It�s a Dutch talentsite.

It�s sometimes brilliant, sometimes terrible, sometimes in English, sometimes in Dutch, sometimes in terrible English, but worth a shot if you�re up for it.

I just heard a band that was blantantly ripping off Sebadoh, but coming off as teenager brooding over his Led Zep blacklight poster in his parent�s basement-ish.

Wait. They all do.

No. This one is actually just being weird for weird�s sake, but invoking the macarena.

Oh those Dutch.

If I could pick a nationality, it�d probably be Dutch. I�d be proud to be the Dutch guy in the room.

You get the logic of Germany, but minus the whole Hitler thing (not to make light of that, but you do).

No, now there�s a song about chasing rainbows, but set to this fake cheeze-jazz, wait. This is kinda brilliant. If we�re on the same wavelength here.

But anyway, you also got the Flemish angle, if you�re Dutch. You got the Marsailles thing still rocking.

Then again, we�re back to a Lionel Ritchie piano opening that should be whoo-ed over by Mariah Carey, but instead we get a dramatic Waiting in vain for an answer / Searching in vain for an answer in a proggy delivery that definitely WASN�T supposed to be ironic.

You know what? Oh god, the cheezy guitar solo. Trust me.

But you know what? This is nothing if I can�t be there with the person I�m sharing it with. Hallie needs to be here for these lyrics. We would laugh for hours, and not get bored of it.


Listening to: Dutch radio
Reading: finished Moody
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie