2001-11-16 - 7:34 p.m.

My buddy from work is taking off for his home in Europe soon. Today was his last day. He's gonna go to some Karaoke bar in Malden with JK and KMac tonight--I think I'll join 'em for a little while. Buddy from work is gonna meet me here (at work--how appropriate), and we're gonna go find the place together, which should be fun.

I've never sung Karaoke before. I almost did once, last Christmas, but my friend L. chickened out on me. Too bad.

I don't wanna sing Karaoke tonight, but I'm also able to make rational decisions right now. I'm afraid that after a few drinks and some goading, I'm going to be struck with KARAOKE FEVER! Oh no! There's a line, you know. Listen up, young children, this tip comes from experience:

1) Doing really lame things is stupid. This counts double for people that act like wiseasses all the time. Thus, if you respond to basically everything in life with cynicism, you SHOULDN'T get heated over a game of Balderdash, or go nuts on a Halloween costume, or sing Karaoke (unless shrouded in utter privacy.)

2) Not doing stupid things is a good rule to live by... UNLESS you have to. Nobody is more uncool than the person who can't be coerced by friends to do something harmless but embarrassing. That's lame. If all your friends sing Karaoke, and then they tell you 15 times to sing Karaoke, and you refuse 15 times, then you have no business being at the Karaoke bar in the first place.

3) Timing is key. You don't want to seem too enthusiastic about doing something mortifying and ridiculous. However, you don't want to put up a big fuss for too long and make everyone else uncomfortable. Just gotta feel it out...

You're welcome, Reader...


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie