2001-11-22 - 10:16 a.m.

Happy Thanksgiving! (If you're into that kind of stuff...)

Went out with the Goth Gurl last night and we met up with the Art Gurl and some random guy she brought with her. I chose the Hong Kong based on the whimsical assumption that it being both a Wednesday night AND the day before Thanksgiving, the bars would be nice and empty. Such was not the case. Rather, the Hong Kong was packed with gyrating chowdaheads. Not good times. Bad times.

I can't hear others well when the prevailing noise is blaring techno-pop. The guy started talking to G.G., so I had a conversation with A.G. 'Twas lovely. I asked if she didn't mind a forward comment, and she reeled back a little. I then went on to guess her five favorite bands/music artist. She was relieved, and I was correct. She told me that she's gotten far worse "forward" comments.

G.G. and I had planned to get a couple of quick drinks, but A.G. and random guy had other plans. I jumped ship--G.G. went home and I tagged along with the A.G. crew. We changed bars, 'twas my suggestion. I thought that An Tain would be barren.

I was correct, but that didn't stop them from blaring techno as well. After a few beers, A.G. and random guy turned into characters from Waking Life, frequently spouting off quibbles and notions of what life is and so on. Lots of chowdahead bashing. Lots of feeling superior. I must admit, I was an active participant. It was good practice.

A.G. is in love with herself. She takes compliments well--often building upon them. I like her, and I like random guy too. I hope I see him again.

It was getting time to go, and he bought us all shots. I stay away from the sauce, but I accepted the gift. We toasted.

I left pretty toasted. The train ride home was a little different than usual. I had the hiccups and indigestion all night. I woke up at 8:30.

Now it's time to see the folks. Good times?


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie