2001-11-23 - 2:12 a.m.

Thanksgiving...

There really is no place to start, and nowhere to end. Wonderful wonderful wonderful. Here's a list (in some order) of the material things that happened today, with some or no commentary. Please don't think I'm shallow!

1) Ate.

2) Hung out with the family. 'Twas wonderful (for the most part). They love me, I love them, we don't see each other much, and that's why I love them and they love me. 'Nuff said?

3) Played catch Football with my brother. He's younger than I am, and all of a sudden, he's mad buff! HE taught ME how to throw a football. Good times.

4) Woke up mad early today, still heartburning from last night. Worried that it would ruin my day. Didn't.

5) Also, good hair day. I know it's not the 80's, and I'm not worrying, I'm being happy, and I'm aware that there's a baby on board, and Michael J. Fox has epilepsy, I think, and I pity the fool, and so on, but goddamn it, there is still a difference between a good hair day and a bad hair day.

6) On the same line, my grandmother asked if I got a perm. Good times. Mom, Grandma, and Grandpa both mentioned that "my face has filled out more," to varying degrees of praise. Not good times. Bad times. (But funny.)

7) Got to watch some Thanksgiving Football. Wasn't interested in the least. But, I can now check that one off my list.

8) LAUNDRY! Did what would have cost me normally (provided nothing fucked up, which does happen) $10.50. Not including Tide and what not. Two loads (loads are bigger at my family's house and please don't read anything into that statement--please, just don't), plus one whole load (I warned you...) just for my red hoodie, which bleads pink into other garments (ok, I'm gonna say this one more time...).

9) Laundry to come! Ma is gonna put my Sox hat into the dishwasher with a Hat Buddy (one of the greatest inventions of all time). My red cable sweater and my skinny guy vertical line grey/black sweater will be washed separately and returned to me at a later date. Lord, Yay!

10) I ate. Here's a list:

--Turkey (white and dark) w/ gravy

--Stuffing (the good kind--not Stove Top, although both were represented and a debate ensued)

--Green beans (first time not in a Chacarero in so long)

--Wacky cranberry sauce with oranges, walnuts, strawberries, and the like (although the canned cranberry sauce was represented and an debate ensued)

--Squash! (Butter!)

--I could have had mashed potatoes, but there was no more room on my plate.

--Sweet potatoes. I was (I think) the only person to have one. There was actually a debate over whether people really did coat sweet potatoes with marshmallows. I love my family!

11) I ate! Hours later, pumpkin pie cheesecake for desert. (!)

12) Being a wiseass to some bitch over playing football with my brother on our street and also being near her car. I take shit from people all the time. I was a wiseass to her (respectfully, mind you) and my family thought it was cool. Yay!

13) Hanging out w/the Roommate afterwards.

14) I helped!

15) Drinking beers w/my dad. NOTHING is more fun than that. Not bad times. Good times.

16) Called my sister in Ireland. That was kinda fun.

17) Christmas anticipation has been kind of a drag. Last year, I was working mad overtime and was able to buy some pretty good gifts--everything fell into place nicely. This year, to beat a dead horse (sorry, Mr. Ed, but it's for your own good) bad times. Not good times. I completely forgot that I GET STUFF FROM GRANDMA! I get $150 to spend at a mall. Spree! Good times. (Not bad times.) It'll give me something to look forward to (and subsequently feel glad about) during the lean times.

18) Itemized list of things I got:

--random assortment of usual things (that I love--Moxie, paper towels, cranberry juice, the like...)

--wacky, restaurant quality seafood cakes from my dad. I know I'm gonna get sick of 'em, but I don't care--I love 'em now, and I'm gonna force myself to eat 'em to save money.

--wacky, extremely flammable light-up poinsettia thing from my Ma. I love my Ma.

--Quarters from Grandma's change purse. I don't know how they got there.

--Let's not forget the laundry.

--12 pack of Sam from my Dad. These guys truly love me!

--$15 from Grandma and $20 from Aunt T. I was a little embarrassed due to my age, but Ma told me to shut up--she still gets tuckies from Grandma too.

--Yay!

Yay!


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie