2001-11-28 - 1:41 a.m.

Nothing's funnier than the Daily Show.

I work 1-9. I sleep 'till 10:30 or so, get up, hang out on the web for a few minutes to look at photographs (if you know what I mean), work, and then I come home. I hang out with the Girlfriend for a few if she's still awake, drink some beer, buy/make dinner, watch TV, and hang out on the internet (for more diverse reasons). Then the weekend comes and I work or clean the apartment, occasionally doing some stuff that's really fun.

Yeah, I know I'm wasting my time. Somehow, it all still seems pretty good to me.

I never was a fun person. Never part of the crowd. Not lamenting about it, just saying it. I like wacky people who have fun and exciting lives, but I'll bet that most of the time they're just as bored as I. Waiting for something to happen. Maybe others are able to see more drama in the mundane trivialities of their lives (which is good) and can take off from there.

If I got myself invited to one of those "fun things" that the wacky kids do, I'd probably act like some blushing yokel. I've done it before.

I do enough things that are fun (to me) anyway. And maybe I'll have a mid-20s crisis soon and take care of the things I haven't yet gotten to do.

But I hope not. It seems that people always get soured on crazy life things eventually. They seem cool and exciting until they become an actual part(y) of your life. That to me is a waste. There's nothing else left to look forward to.

I had friends in high school, and was a part of a clique, but just a peripheral member. This summer, with S. and E. and H. and also A. and P., I felt like I was an actual integral part of a clique for the first time ever.

That's like losing your virginity at 20.

It felt really, really, really good.

So I don't mind, really, drinking beer and laughing so hard that I cry when I watch the Daily Show. Rationing out the wacky experiences so that they don't get old before I do. Doing some pretty fun stuff in the meantime to fill the void between landmarks.

(BTW, lost my virginity around age 17. The above line was a similie--a metaphor where you use "like" or "as.")


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie