2001-12-03 - 1:12 a.m.

(Hey, so that's how I felt yesterday. That's the very worst I can get, which is of some relief to me.)

Used the Boss BR-8 yesterday for the first (serious) time. It was a massive relief that the work I did came out positive. The last used 8-track fiasco strongly turned me off of my music enthusiasm and really soured me in general. Made me feel like my dreams were impossible. I gave those feeling some nurturing, mind you, but it truly was a bad experience. Recording today was a first step in undoing some of those negative feelings.

I decided to do "Pay No Attention." Yesterday, I played the guitar more than usual (of late), and I actually learned to sing the song. It's a Girlfriend song that was always too high for me to attempt, but I've been listening to the Frogs lately, and I've been experimenting with falsetto. It's been working. Yeah, I'm a pussy. So what?

So I learned how to sing "Pay No Attention," and that's why I chose that as the first song to record. I was upset that the BR-8 is not at all meant for acoustic guitars, but the overall recording process was surprisingly painless. The best part was being able to hear a guitar part to something I wrote while at the same time being able to practice bass lines. I was able to figure out a pretty cool one in little time. Yay!

My Dad dropped off my December T-pass today, along with my hard to wash sweater from Thanksgiving. You know what, it's embarrassing that my parents still do stuff for me, but it's cool that they do. I shouldn't feel that guilty for it. It's not like they're paying my rent. I haven't lived at home since the summer after I graduated high school.

He had a pretty good parking space, so I asked him up. He got kinda winded on the stairs, but so did I. We were both embarassed. It was good.

I have a dollar to my name 'till Wednesday. Yeah. That T-pass is going to come in pretty handy.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie