2001-12-11 - 1:15 a.m.

Just spent an hour and fifteen minutes on the "Ms. Demeanor" (ha, ha!) site hosted by AOL. I dunno what the hell is wrong with me. I did learn more about people with better manners than I, and how to tell when they're using them on me. It truly was all about deception. Nice-nice little articles on how to get rid of annoying people or how to get what you want or how to "network" without having others know. Except those with good manners. Those are fellow members of the secret society.

I actually wanted to pick up some tips, too. (My motives are never completely altruistic). I didn't. I actually think I have better manners than that. Perhaps I'm just less self aware.

So.

Friday night, I was at work and I got a call from the Girlfriend. She calls every now and then, but I was a little surprised at the time--it was around 9:15. All the interviewers were gone--I was alone. Her tone of voice that one would use when requesting a two-liter of Coke or an extra bottle of wine for an unexpected guest.

She told me that the soot black of the ultimatum had been lifted.

I thanked her. I sounded like I was receiving an office resource that would enable me to be more productive.

It was a massive relief. Massive.

I got home and the place was somehow made (by whom I do not know) to be slightly less cluttered. I had purchased an appropriate amount of beer for the occasion.

It was sufficient. I expected no surplus. I wisely made some food before the triumphant return of S. When he came, when he came, when he rang the friggin' doorbell, I was happy.

I didn't expect his S. to come, but it was wonderful to see her.

We stayed up 'till the wee hours of the morning, the Girlfriend being the lone recuser. Drank beer. I was an excellent DJ. All was well.

We promised each other that we would wake up early. We were all up by 1pm. No time wasted.

I made coffee for all, and we went to Grecian Yearnig for some greasy spoon delight. Eggs benedict smothered in Hollandaise sauce. More coffee. S. picked up the tab in exchange for the beers. Classy.

Green line to Park Street, Orange line to Sullivan Square.

A fucking train ride was fun.

I was a little nervous but mostly excited getting off the train at Sullivan. Not only was S. and S.' old place our destination, but I hadn't been to my old Somerville apartment's closest train station in over a year. I had taken the Orange Line that far only once.

It was good to see it again.

The whole weekend was devoted to memories. Talking about people I hadn't thought about since I graduated. Maybe I thought it unrealistic and unhealthy to live in the past. Maybe I was waiting for the right person with whom to reminisce. Either way, I had some pretty good stories. I was surprised at how much I was able to reclaim from the pawn shop of my memory.

M.G. was receptive when the four of us arrived at "V52" (her term). This was the place where so many of my favorite memories actually happened. Think about how many times something truly memorable happens. Or an event that will never be forgotten. Now, think about how many times in your life you get to revisit the place where those events occurred.

Some things had changed, but not much. It was uncanny.

S. was obviously moved at the return. He didn't show it. I could tell.

From there, we went to Buddha's Delight in Chinatown. Delicious. I ordered an appetizer to keep the cost down, along with a superstrong Thai iced coffee (four shots of espresso). Bill came, and I suggested four ways. S. said no--the Girlfriend and I had coffees and S. and S. had waters. I did not protest. He had it down fair, actually, since I had traded appetizers for other people's food here and there (I didn't like what I had ordered). Classy and tactful. It wasn't his fault that I didn't like what I got. He wanted to pay for what he ordered, and did. One of the rare times when the tip wasn't an issue. One of the rare times where I didn't end up pretending that I wanted to check under the table for lost items when the rest of the party heads for the door, and then throwing down an extra dollar.

Real friends.

I hung out with real friends.

After that, S. and S. and the Girlfriend and I went down to the new H&M. I helped S.'s S. pick out some a "junior miss" Christmas present, as well as a pair of panties and a pair of long black gloves. It was fun. I picked up a new inhaler prescription too. The Girlfriend and S. went for more coffee.

We went back to our place. More fun. Got back home, S. and I split a 30-pack. It was pretty much done by the end of the evening. Yeah.

I. (as in "...Pop and the Stooges") came down. It was good to see her--it had been a number of years. She was a different person--she had always been pretty cool to me before. Maybe being in our apartment made her nicer to me.

S. and I. ended up going through two bags of H.'s old discarded clothes. She brought them over instead of just throwing them away when she lived at my place for two weeks.

There was not an article of clothing remaining. Yay! S. got H.'s old t-shirt. It said "I'd rather be dancing.". It fit him very well.

I guess more story later. I have been summoned by the demon alcohol.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie