2001-12-16 - 11:34 p.m.

It's weird. That comedy show with Dave Attell is SO good, but somehow it just makes me want to write.

I'm jealous. He's very good at being "off the cuff" with people. I'm sure the editing helps, but I do envy his talent. He lives the dream life in his show--he gets to travel around the country, make people laugh with so-so standup, and then stumble around from city to city with a film crew and security. He never bitches about being lonely. When he's doing his show, he can do whatever he wants, and if he can't, so what?

I want to be paid to make an ass of myself.

The Girlfriend and I had a Girlfriend weekend. We went to her office Christmas party on Friday (it's Sunday night at the moment). I had the whole day off, and all I did was laundry.

I went to the laundromat to save a few bucks. I brought all my laundry with me. About 40 pounds. I was gonna put it in the washer and head back to the apt. and clean some stuff.

There was a creepy not-quite-homeless dude there. He appeared to be a "traveler," like he was some college student from 1988 who wanted to fuck the establishment by denying said establishment the rare prize of his mind and soul. Regardless, he was eyeing my laundry. He didn't look like a thief, but he did look like he might just help himself to just one sweater because I had more in the world than him, and so I deserved it. Well, we didn't see eye to eye on the issue, as it was my laundry (as opposed to IBM's), and as the only reason why I carried a 40 pound bag of laundry three blocks from my apt. and back again was to save two dollars. It sucked. I couldn't let him out of my eyesight, so even though I lived but a few blocks away, I couldn't really go home just to get a book to read while I guarded my laundry.

But I did do three loads, and then I had about an hour to get ready for the Girlfriend's party.

I was pretty ready when she arrived. I wore the shiny grey pants I got at Structure (when I bought the coat), the blue 16 1/2 button-down that I wore to graduation and the ill-fated Millenium party, my Interview shoes from Pay-Less, my Interview/I finally have one again silver tie clip, and my burgundy paisley-yet-tasteful tie from high school. I wore briefs 'cause you're supposed to when you wear dress pants, and off-black socks.

I was dressed to impress. But success it never came. I was the only one who laughed at the jokes when they were so bad.

Sorry, that joke is always bad.

The party was fine. I comported myself correctly. I got to make my Harvard "strike sharply about the face and neck" joke. I made a good impression and played the role of the showcase boyfriend nicely and with much enthusiasm.

I kept hearing the word "stuffy," but from different people. That was kinda funny.

The Girlfriend was far more in control at her Christmas party. She still got pretty toasted, tho.

You're going to get mad at me for saying this, she said, but I'm going to marry you.

It was nice to hear that. What a friggin' turn of events. Two weeks ago, she was ready to feed me cherry bombs. Now she's happy with me.

I've been the same person all along.

I seem to have that effect on people.

Then, Saturday. We went to Harvard Squidge. It was cold. We ate at a memory place that had changed. I shall never go there again. The place has a new memory now.

Sunday morning, I made some coffee. It was the last of the bag, and wasn't as strong as I would have liked it to have been.

I wanted to get crap done all weekend. Instead, I just watched movies with the Girlfriend.

She says that one has to do nothing every now and then. I agree, but that shouldn't count for weekends. That's when you should do stuff.

The weekend (and a Friday off!) passed, and I did a couple of dishes, I did my laundry, and I took out the beer can garbage bag.

Last weekend, I hung out with S.

I did have a good weekend, tho. Re-watching "Hoop Dreams" and "Crumb" was fun.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie