2002-01-06 - 8:43 p.m.

Dear editors of Spin,

You guys must have gotten quite a few angry letters about your choices for your 50 greatest bands of all time. While I'm not quite partial to Korn, and find your your placement of Bob Marley and the Wailers in the top 10 questionable, if not bizarre, I have no complaint. I get the point--you chose (for the most part) influential bands with genuine artistic vision that somehow remained commercially successful. Kudos.

I do feel that several bands were inexplicably snubbed. The following is a list of influential bands to whom you owe a big apology (each), along with a box of chocolates and a free T-shirt:

1) The Cure

2) The Soft Boys (or a nod to Robyn Hitchcock and the Egyptians)

3) They Might be Giants

4) Stereolab

5) The Eagles (even though I hate them)

6) Jefferson Airplane (likewise)

7) Built to Spill

8) The Pixies (how COULD you?)

9) The Cardigans (or Cat Power)

10) Guided by Voices (!)

11) Yo La Tengo (Don't get me started)

12) Half Japanese (or Bongwater)

13) Sebadoh (what's WRONG with you guys?)

14) The Frogs

15) Helium

16) The Velvet Underground (not putting them in the top 10 was like not including them at all)

17) Big Star

18) Television (!) (or the Modern Lovers)

19) Def Leppard (I'm serious)

20) The Fall

21) The Softies

22) Quasi (I HATE YOU!)

23) Sleater-Kinney

24) The Violent Femmes

25) Throwing Muses

I appreciate your general open-mindedness with your little list. It was pretty big of you NOT to in(dulge)clude such glugre as N-Sync, Barenaked Ladies, Sublime, or Aerosmith. I do feel like someone at your fine organization fell asleep, or perhaps did not do their research. Consider the above list a nudge on the shoulder for your sleeping security guard.

Get it right next time, (and feel free to send me a complimentary T-shirt and box of chocolates).


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie