2002-01-14 - 9:49 a.m.

Yup, had a good weekend.

Friday night, went out with C. (from work). So glad the week was over. Also wanted to celebrate a little--I had been given my review at work, and they decided not to put me on salary. Rather, I got a modest $0.44/hr raise. Yay! Went to Fajitas n' Ritas, and had (naturally) a couple a pitchers of Ritas. Onto my place, where C. and I drank some beers.

Chilling vibes when I got back. I had forgotten to get the Girlfriend some wine, and had also neglected to call her to tell her that I was going to be late. Oops. I felt really bad about it, but there wasn't much I could do to make things better (especially by sending C. home and then stumbling drunk into the room to watch taped episodes of My So Called Life with the angry Girlfriend and Roommate). So I hung out with C. for a while in the kitchen. I forced her to give me plant care tips (for Planthomas, my plant) until she had her fill of Buds. She walked herself home, and I went to the store to pick up some smokes for myself and the Roommate.

And who did I run into? Steven Prygoda of Boston's very own My Own Worst Enemy! The Girlfriend and I played a show with them once, and are kinda friendly with them. I picked up the smokes, and then brought him back to my kitchen and hung out for awhile. We were both pretty drunk, but that didn't stop us from drinking some more, and we played some horrible music together. We exchanged numbers all too eagerly, and then he went off on his way.

Next day, went to the Aquarium with the Roommate. It was kind of a lark at first, long line, first thing you see is a bunch of immobile penguins getting sprayed in the face with cold water, and then I saw a great big tank full of beautiful fish. I was transfixed. We spent a couple of wondrous hours there, and then on Macy's to look at housewares, and finally to the Tam.

I've always been partial to the Tam's neighbor, Charlie Flynn's. CF's is probably the dingiest, most dank bar allowed by our fine state's sanitary laws. It smells like it has never been aired out, ever, and water drips freely from the ceiling and onto stand-only tables decorated with Sox paraphernalia from 1986 (literally). I love that place. But we didn't go there.

I had never been to the Tam, but it was ranked as one of Boston's cheapest bars (along with one of my favorites, Allston/Brighton's the Model). We showed our IDs to the bouncer, who (only half jokingly) warned us not to cause him any problems, because he had conjunctivitis and could easily infect us with one quick karate move. We laughed a little too hard at his "joke" and moved in. I heard him repeat the same routine to each new patron.

After downing a few $2 Buds there, we went down to the Kendall Cafe, where I dined on delicious steak tips and she on jambalaya. Lotsa beer.

Then, home. Ran into (who else?) C. and her friend on the bus, so we went out to (where else?) the Model with them--the packies had all closed. Hung out there for awhile, and then the Roommate and I bid C. and her friend (from Northampton, and had never been to Boston!) adieu. The Roommate made me some eggs when we got back.

I got out of bed Sunday afternoon and made some iced cappuccino. The Roommate and I walked through the snow to Coolidge Corner and spent a full 45 minutes deciding where to eat. My feet were soaking wet. We decided to try a fancy looking Chinese food place in Washington Square. The place was bizarre and was blaring cheeze jazz the whole time. We were both hungover. I had the beef fried rice.

Got home and changed my pants. Played some Scrabble. Did my laundry. Got some Burger King. Watched TV with the Girlfriend. Went to bed.

And here I am! I got up at 8:30 this morning for no reason whatsoever. Walked to the store to get some juice. I was planning on washing some dishes, but I don't know if I'm gonna have time now.

And that was my weekend. Pretty neat, huh?

The End


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie