2002-01-25 - 1:22 a.m.

I know that most of this content sucks, but for me, writing here is better than watching TV.

I don't have some sort of hip young lifestyle. And I make no apologies.

I'm in-your-face boring.

I got home at the exact same time as the Girlfriend. Odd. She had to go to work late and then leave late so that she could work on some special and massive photocopying project and not get in the way of the minor photocopying duties of others. As we all know, I work late. Thus, the run-in, me catching up with her, and right at the door to our apartment.

It was kinda cool for me to see what she looks like when she enters her home when she doesn't think anyone is looking.

The first thing I noticed when we got upstairs was that the Roommate had done a number on the apartment. Huge cleaning spree. I instantly felt sorta guilty. I haven't been bad about cleaning at all, but I always feel guilty whenever anyone lifts a finger that is not mine.

I mentioned it to the Girlfriend, and she had no idea. The Roommate had done all the dishes and had swept the kitchen floor, cleaned the table and counters, and I think that she also did some work in the bathroom. In our tiny "living room," she had rid the messy coffee table of our belongings, transferring those items to the couch/futon. Had I not made a remark, the Girlfriend would most likely not have noticed at all. Never would have registered.

Not noticing obvious things (but intently focusing on others) is kind of a part of the Girlfriend's personality. So many times have we been walking together. Something wacky or unusual will catch my eye, and I'll quietly watch it, so as not to disturb the wacky or unusual person or phenomenon.

When said event is safely behind us, I'll make a comment to the Girlfriend. Naturally, whatever had caught my eye did not catch that of her own.

So the Roommate did a number on the apartment. And the Girlfriend didn't notice.

And that's cool. She's not a mind reader. Some people think differently than others. For instance, I always notice the obvious. However, I never notice the painfully obvious.

I do my best to remember this principle when dealing with people. They just don't see things the way I do. If I get mad at someone for some stupid reason, I always assume that that person doesn't "know any better."

Good for me or bad, this is what I believe.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie