2002-01-28 - 11:09 p.m.

Otherwise boring day, but had a good walk to work.

Not a wacky day. Pretty boring. I'm pretty broke, but I'll be able to pay rent and still eat. Yay!

The Art Gurl called me while I was watching a re-run of Queer as Folk. I screen my calls and I answered too hastily. I thought it was H. If my phone rings after 10:00 and I'm not one who is making the call, it's for me. The Art Gurl is gonna take me our for a beer on Wednesday. Yay! I absolutely have to avoid spending money. Absolutely. Well, maybe one round. For every seven.

Called the Landlord today. He's pushy and from the Middle East, making him very difficult to understand. Plus he insists on using one of those muddy two-way cell phones, which makes talking to him intimidating.

I know he's a slumlord, but he's soooo crafty and I kinda like him, even though I know he's just tricking me into liking him.

I tried to set up an in-person interview with him, so that I could talk about renewing the lease with one less tenant for a $300 - $400 decrease in rent (per month). It wasn't an unreasonable offer on my behalf. Rent prices are going way down (if you know where to look), I've been an excellent tenant for two years, he never fixed all the stuff we asked him to ("What you want? A perfect apartment?"), and all of the current tenants in the building are destructive college students who view his building as a disposable party house.

The first count he did not agree with. And he's "been doing this for years and knows the business and would not kid you about this." The second count, the one on which I structured my entire argument, he took out of my hands immediately ("Such an excellent tenant you have been. Excellent. This is why I not raise rent last year."). Numbers three and four I can't bring up over the phone--he's a sensitive guy about stuff like that and would consider such comments insulting.

The lowest offer he'll give is the same price we're already paying.

We'll see what happens. I'd stay with him just to avoid paying a massive realtor fee for absolutely no service provided. In addition, if we could stay in the neighborhood, not only would we get to stay in the neighborhood, but staying here would significantly cut down on moving fees.

I just want to hide my head under the covers and prodically return to my parents' house at 2:00pm on September 1st, but I gotta move on this. Be responsible.

Gotta get this all squared away. Then, and only then, will I be able to hide my head under the covers.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie