2002-02-09 - 7:12 p.m.

Apparently, the Catholic Church in Boston (the Archdiocese of Boston) has been knowingly allowing their priests to molest children. Fuckers. This is a pretty big story right now.

My mom just called. She just asked me if I had ever been molested by a priest. She was especially worried because I had been an altar boy, a choir boy, had received first Communion and first Confession twice, am a Confirmed catholic (I chose "Newmann" as in Saint John Newmann as my confirmation name to appease my grandmother), and I have attended a total of 10 years of Catholic school.

I was pretty taken aback by her question (the answer is no, thank God). I am not a product of a household that prides itself on its frankness. We never talk about anything remotely sexual, good or bad. The house my parents moved into has a hot tub installed in the upstairs bedroom, and it has never been used.

But my ma asked me anyway. God bless her. I love her. She was genuinely concerned for me, especially because I "hate the Church so much" (her words).

But can you imagine if the answer was yes? Can you imagine dragging your kid kicking and screaming into Church, furious at your kid for not accepting God into his life or for just being lazy, and then later finding out that your kid was being abused by a goddamn priest?

There are far more things in the world that make me angry than things that bring me joy. I mentioned one of each in this entry.

On the bright side, this is my 101st entry. ...pats self on back... I never thought I'd make it this far.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie