2002-02-17 - 1:18 p.m.

My S's party last night was very, very fun. I'll spend some time writing a laundry-list of the events later on�just wanted to mention that I remembered a dream I had last night (I very rarely remember my dreams).

I was standing at a party with a bunch of my "friends" (not real people I know). It was a costume party. I was dressed like a socialite, as a joke of course.

This dude walked by, and he was dressed as Sir Isaac Newton. For some reason, I really didn't like him. So I asked who he was dressed as.

Sir Francis Drake?

Betty Page?

Theodore Roosevelt?

And so on. And it really bothered him.

My friends started getting into it too�guessing historical figures and celebrities who were obviously not the correct answer.

Cap'n Crunch!

Teddy Ruxpin!

Madonna!

And I kept taunting him.

Who are you dressed as?

After awhile, the crowd got into it, too. But, unlike my friends and I, they actually didn't know who the dude was supposed to be.

And it really annoyed me�that these people were so stupid.

And I looked at the people in the crowd, and they were all decked out in sexy costumes. I was drowning in a sea of attractive morons.

And then I felt bad for Sir Isaac Newton. Here's a guy that had the balls to dress up as one of the most brilliant mathematical minds of whatever century he lived in, despite the beauty-centric dress code. And I had decided to taunt him of all people, not the people who deserved taunting.

Who are you dressed as?

Who are you dressed as?

By now, things were getting out of hand.

I waited for a lull, and then shouted out

Someone who seriously underestimated the intelligence of the crowd!

That shut everybody up. For about five seconds. There were a couple of nervous titters and knowing chuckles, though.

And then the game went on.

And I walked away.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie