2002-03-06 - 1:54 a.m.

After work, hung out with C. (from work). Went to see Molly at her club in Cambridge.

The one beer rule was not invoked (in other words, drink under no false pretense of leaving after just one).

Good time, and got to listen to some Uncle Tupelo (brings back memories), other scattered alt.country, and some Mexicali thrown in to boot!

Not really my cup of coffee with no sugar, but better than the pounding nuevo-disco you'd hear anywhere else.

Hung out with Molly 'till closing time. She took a cab home, paid for by her club. I'm having her over for dinner next Wednesday. Yay!

Was fun, but get this!

On our freezing walk home, C. (from work) and I passed by the Doubletree, and I mentioned that Scullers, the jazz bar, was located inside the hotel. Apparently, it's the greatest jazz-hole in Boston, but nobody goes there because it's not public-transportation accessible.

She thought that bar was somewhere else, so we decided to get out of the cold and ask at the front of the desk.

The hotel is basically accessible only by car, off the pike, but we cut through some kind of access tunnel and then walked right through the doors.

But there was nobody there!

And it didn't take us too long to realize it.

I found the elevator, and we went to the top floor. I felt like a kid, and I also felt very stealthy.

Classy hotel, compared to the ones I've visited (few) or seen on TV. Funny, though, the hotel has this massive amount of open space in the center, and the rest of the hotel is built around it, so that you can peer off your "balcony" standing right outside your room.

Waste of space, if you ask me. Also, it was kinda the trailer-park answer to high-livin'.

Once on the sixteenth floor, I resisted the urge to spit off the inner "balcony," sixteen floors down.

Or throw a coin.

Afterward, we snuck into Scullers. Very dark, but even so, I was disappointed to learn that it was a carpeted and well upholstered hotel bar, complete with tacky hotel art--not some kinda crazy jazz-hole. Unfortunate.

Dark, and a little afraid of being caught, we stole a beer from the tap, and then took off.

It was very exciting.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie