2002-03-21 - 3:16 p.m.

Shhh! Guess what?

I pussied out and called in sick to work today!

Well, actually what I did was call the Irish Boss, and tell him that I'm not actually sick, but that I really need a day off. I made sure that he knew that I could come in if necessary.

Aach! Aye, he said, take the friggin' day off. Aach!

Went for a quick errand walk and got back three hours later. Changed my guitar strings. Got an iced cappuccino.

Felt guilty at first, but now I feel great!

I do feel like a pussy, tho. At the Big Company, there are no such things as "mental health days." Hell, it's a pain in the ass just to get new White-out or Mr. Stick-it pads.

But I'm not at the Big Company right now, and I can do whatever I want!

Maybe I'll do all the dishes!

Epilogue: (8:30 pm)

I did the dishes

The floor I did sweeple

I scrubbed the toilet

But where are the people?

I miss the Girlfriend and the Roommate. They should have been home hours ago--what happened? Were they eaten by monsters? Is this some kind of future shock movie where for once in my life I don't go to work, and then this random cosmic explosion of light instantly dissolves anyone currently on the clock?

Played guitar all day, the landlord's lackey showed the apartment to two more completely uninterested folks, cleaned a bunch of stuff, ate some BK, listened to my new (rare) Robyn Hitchcock album twice, and Isolation Drills by GBV twice (cause I always tell Randy Research at work that all I wanna do is go home and listen to my Guided by Voices album), put all the CDs away, played on the internet, and now I'm ready for some goddamn company!

Oh well, maybe I'll clean some more stuff.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie