2002-04-07 - 1:26 a.m.

Twilight campfighter, you build your fires into

An open wound

You want us to feel better

On these darker trails,

With lights revealing holy grails.

To hike through dangerous weather, you need twilight eyes.

Sunspot soldier, you come from another day.

Accept no pay.

All for longing causes.

Racing minds and lengthy pauses.

All who must soon shed their vails and wipe their eyes.

As we hesitate and wait around for brighter days,

And can dance contented to the sound of money,

Could I have seen a sight much greater than your twilight eyes,

That penetrate our silent lives?

Twilight campfighter, we do congratulate.

It's not too late to make us all feel better

Under darker skies.

With your twilight eyes.

So.

Thursday night was pretty wacky. Hung out with C. (from work). It ended up with me learning how to pour drinks and spin records at a bar that shall remain nameless.

I left (un)said bar at 5:00AM, and was shocked to see daylight. Which was behind me on my walk back home. Kept turning around to admire the rising sun, and the clouds, and the sky, but the turning around part wasn't all that masterful, and I frequently fell backward, courteously hurtling towards whatever object would support me.

Bad.

My slap on the wrist was actually a bruise on the arm, but I did get home OK.

Showed up late to work the next day. Called in, and it was only a half-hour, but that's not the point.

I was still hammered when I got in.

But I picked the best day to pull that shit.

I had pulled some miracles from the sky and had finished a wacky project on time.

Let's not get into work stuff here, but let's just say that it was my ass if I didn't pull a wacky miracle. And I mean miracle.

So I basked a little, but mostly I just tried to stay away from people. Didn't want them to smell the aroma of the first Guinness I ever poured seeping out from my pores.

Friday, and it's 6:00. You know that project that finished? The first good thing that has happened at work in a long, long time?

It didn't really finish.

The quotas were set up wrong.

We need 20 more interviews from the West Coast.

And we have no West Coast sample.

And it has to finish now, or it's really my ass.

Yeah, and I know, and I just wanna be making iced cappuccino for people, and that's my job, and then I go home and I don't have to worry about cappuccino for an entire weekend.

But here�s this problem. And I gotta deal with it. And I feel like total shit. And everything is my fault.

The one bright spot is that My S. was there. I hadn�t seen her in quite some time, and even though I was embarrassed that I was in such a bad state, I still did my best to fight through the haze and be around her for a little bit.

So I do what I can with the wacky work situation, which is sending me to the ultimate level of depression, and it�s finally time to leave. And I get a call.

Could I have seen a sight much greater than your twilight eyes?

It was the Art Gurl.

Why did she have to pick my worst day to call me?, I thought.

I also thought thank God she called me on my worst day!

Over the phone, we set plans to meet. I was very enthusiastic. It had been awhile. I missed her.

I have no idea if this is delusional fantasy, but I think that My S. was a little miffed. Maybe she wanted to hang out with me after work. I didn�t know either way. But before I could invite her out, she left in a huff, I think. And I felt bad.

Met the Art Gurl, and it was great. Conversation, and so on. To the People�s Republic (one of my favourite bars).

But she had to go! And it had only been a couple of hours!

I told her that she should stay over. I meant it too, �cause I really like it when people stay over. But people always turn down the offer. It�s like, once you�re 22+, all you wanna do is sleep in your own bed.

I just don�t get it. Why? Provided you own a bed and can pay your rent, you have that luxury every day!

So I made the offer, and she accepted, and that was really friggin� cool.

We had a good walk home, and then I might have said some really embarrassing stuff, but I don�t care at this point.

I still don�t know why the Art Gurl wants to be my friend. So every time I hang out with her, I enjoy it while it lasts.

It lasted �till I had to go to work and she had to go home. We took the train together.

It was all too precious.

Who knows? Today might just be the very last day I spend with the Art Gurl, and on the train, no less.

But.

Tomorrow is Sunday. Daylight Savings Time begins tomorrow. The dark side, where we all lose an hour of sleep.

Not me. I had a long week. Don�t have a reason to get up at all tomorrow, but to do housework.

No, sir, I�m sleeping �till three.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie