2002-05-26 - 5:03 p.m.

Missed most of They Might be Giants, but what I did see was great. It's nice to know that John n' John can still prance around with sheepish confidence like the goofy nerds they are.

The Roommate and I pushed to the front to see Suzanne Vega. She seemed kinda like a crabby middle-aged woman who wanted things done her way, and had this weird habit of bluntly pointing out the (obvious) names of her songs, which didn't (as expected) translate well to large outdoor concert format. Still, it was good to finally see her live, and I really dug the blistering Solitude Standing, which I felt would be a really good song for an old school metal band to cover.

The Roommate and I kinda wandered around a little after Suzanne Vega, and watched these young skater punks do their thang. One of the kids was really classy and very graceful. Another one tried to pick a fight with some very in shape frisbee playing asshole, and then backed off when the tight-T and sunglasses nincompoop, easily twice the kid's weight, called him on it.

Some delicious sushi afterward (I've converted the Roommate), and then we rented some episodes of the Sopranos, which I had never before seen. It's as good as they say, by the way.

Got some sun, ate good food, listened to good music, got some excersice, watched some interesting people and then slightly less interesting television, and drank good beer.


Listening to: Eye by Robyn Hitchcock
Reading:
Background: mid-afternoon party at the frat-ish triple decker behind my apartment
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie