2002-06-12 - 2:17 a.m.

Went to the Guided by Voices listening party at Molly's club tonight.

New release. Street date: next week.

Fulla hipsters.

Anyway, when the DJ was finished, he (of course) promoted his next show, and then let all drinking parties concerned know that he had two promo CDs to toss towards anyone who could answer his GBV trivia questions.

I was standing next to Molly, and she was confident that I could win a copy.

Me? Not so much.

I just really like Mr. Pollard. I don't know everything in the world 'bout GBV. No way in hell I'm gonna get a trivia question 'bout a band that has technically had hundreds of releases.

The first question was about Under the Bushes, Under the Stars. Molly was actually kinda disappointed that I didn't get the answer right�as if I had been lying to her all along 'bout exactly what kind of person I was.

I hadn't proved myself to her.

And I was really hoping I would get the next one.

The other trivia question started kinda like this...

This Boston legend produced...

And before he could finish the question, I was jumping up and down with my hand raised, like a second-grader.

I politely waited for the question to finish, and when it was finally appropriate for me to shout out the answer, I bellowed

Rick Ocasec!!.

OK�maybe you might object to my use of the word "politely," considering the fact that I was jumping up and down with my arm thrust towards the ceiling. In my defense, I would like to add that I was one of few that were not seated, and that I used "politely" to describe the agonizing courtesy I employed by not shouting out the answer the minute I knew the question, as if I were playing along with Jeopardy! from the confines of my kitchen.

I won that CD the right way.

The DJ flung the jewel case somewhat at me, and I jumped up and caught it in midair as if I was used to catching skeet.

It was a really great moment for me.

1) I correctly answered the trivia question.

2) I proved myself to Molly.

3) OK... it wasn't a difficult question. But, in a bar full of hipsters, I came up with the right answer.

Me.

4) The DJ flung the CD at me from a tiny room one floor up. He didn't mean it, but the CD came at me way over my head. I caught it with grace, like an outfielder. As opposed to scrambling to retrieve it, like a fan in the park.

5) That was a CD I wanted to buy. I can't spend too much money right now. I still haven't bought Suzanne Vega's new CD, and that CD isn't new anymore.

It was just a nice thing that happened to me.

It�s nice to be able to tell a story about something nice that happened to me.


Listening to: ...
Reading: I am a Cat!
Background: Massively depressing documentary on the Lusitania
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie