2002-06-13 - 2:04 a.m.

Everyone has his or her own scent. Most are very pleasant.

Some are very confident. Some are barely noticeable.

Some are intentional.

For a smoker, I have a pretty good sense of smell. I'll be happily walking about and then all of a sudden I'll experience the throes of utter heartbreak, and I won't be able to figure out exactly why.

Smell is definitely the worst of the five senses in that regard. You could sniff out tragedy or joy, but either way, that scent triggers (or drudges up) still more nostalgia and melancholy.

I wonder what my scent is. I don't try for one, obviously. Obviously, since every breath I take draws in my scent, the way I smell is very much unknown to me, in the same way that I can't imagine what it would be like to think someone else's thoughts.

My odor is probably a mix of cigarette smoke, and maybe cleaning products? I'll never know what I naturally smell like unless someone attempts to describe it to me, and this is not the kind of information one can easily solicit.

I would like to add that when I see my Grandmother, she doesn�t much smell like anything. But, when I visit my Grandmother�s place, it emits a Grandma-like scent.

The same can be said of many people�s places. They don�t reek, mind you. Not unkempt. Perhaps I�m inhaling and exhaling their objects.

Anyway, I wonder. What will my future room smell like when the (ex) Girlfriend no longer lives with me?


Listening to:
Reading:
Background: ...SNL... (Murray hosting)
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie