2002-07-02 - 11:13 p.m.

When I'm making good decisions, and especially when I'm trying to make the right decisions, even if such attempts are baby steps, I'm frequently rewarded with tiny unrelated gifts. That's my blessing.

When I'm making poor decisions, and especially when I'm inert and indifferent to atrophy, I'm often punished, but not severely enough to drive my conscience to regulate my poor behavior. That's my curse.

I think I've been pretty responsible lately, and the universe, or whatever you want to praise or blame for such things, has noticed, I think.

My birthday is in a couple of days. One of the interviewers made me a special birthday brownie, with candle. At 7:00, their breaktime, a bunch of the interviewers flicked off the lights and sang "happy birthday" to me, which came as an utter surprise.

I was very touched. That kind gesture was not necessary, especially since the Big Boss decided to cancel Wednesday and Friday night hours due to the holiday, and I had just broken the bad news to all of my night interviewers.

And tonight, I took the C-line train rather than my B-line, despite the heat, and I walked home from Coolidge Corner for exercise (which the universe loves). I stopped by a slightly overpriced packie to which I rarely give my patronage, and was a little bummed when I realized that they didn't carry PBR, which is nice and cheap and bearable.

But, lo. Amstel Light, normally $15 plus deposit, was on sale for $11. A bargain! And, the dude forgot to ring up my smokes.

Pretty sweet.

Finally, the Big Boss decided to give everyone a half-day tomorrow. But, as I work from 1-9 and am not on salary (thank God), I frequently, on an overlooked technicality, get screwed out of the Big Boss� rare flashes of petty generosity. I grumble, but never complain.

This time, however, I marched into the Administrative Boss� office replete with battle plan. I explained why it was necessary for me to be in the office from 5-9, and since everyone else was working a half-day, why don�t I just come in at 5:00? I then added so, do you want me to punch in and out, or do you want me to send you an e-mail reminding you to credit me for the other four hours? before she had a chance to think the situation over and check with the Big Boss over whether or not I should even be credited with the half-day.

This flash of quasi-nefarious brilliance brought to me by the letters K, A, R, and M.


Listening to: Universal Truths and Cycles by Guided By Voices
Reading: Being Dead by Jim Crace
Background: Law & Order
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie