2002-09-21 - 1:45 p.m.

Guess who just came back from the Somerville library book sale with a box in his arms?

The Roommate picked out some hardcovers ($1 each), and I snagged some CDs ($1 each).

Fastbacks--Answer the Phone, Dummy (in store copy)

The Cure--Disintegration

Thurston Moore--Ono Soul

Girls Against Boys--Park Avenue

The Sundays--Blind

A Rufus Wainwright Sampler (why not?)

A Newbury Comics comp with songs by Jeff Buckley and Mary Lou Lord (among other crap)

A Spin Magazine comp with songs by Television, Velocity Girl, King Missile, and Pop Will Eat Itself (among other crap)

And, Sebadoh's Smash Your Head on the Punk Rock and The Freed Man, both on tape.

Boo yeah!

I was Mr. Outta-my-way-vibes at the CD section, and everyone hated me.

Well, not everyone has Thurston Moore's Ono Soul spinning happily away in their CD players, so hate me all day long, suckers!

Satisfied that I had picked up each and every choice recording, I chatted up a browsing girl. She hadn't borne witness to my vulgar display of brute Filene's-Basement-wedding-dress-sale-type behavior. She picked up a tape with a picture of some Indian dude playing the sitar on the cover.

He's amazing, she said.

Naah, I already have one global-minded Art Gurl. Like the Elvis Costello tapes I was thinking about, I threw her back.


Listening to: Thurston Moore
Reading:
Background: The Strokes in the kitchen
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie