2002-10-11 - 2:36 a.m.

I have a new music crush--Grandaddy.

Borrowed from the Somerville library, no less, and almost returned before having been listened to.

I hate bringing stuff back late. Once it�s late, there�s no pressure to return it--you�re bad. You can�t make yourself un-bad, barring construction of a time machine. And since there�s no pressure, and since you don�t wanna face up to being late, it gets easier and easier to subconsciously just never bring it back at all. Which would be perfect, except then, on the train, or before going to bed, or while climbing stairs, you remember that you still haven�t returned that stupid thing, and now it�s really really really late, which makes you really really really bad. And it makes you wish you could just go back in time and have it be just a little bit late, if only you were only that bad it would be OK, but this? Let�s just not return it at all and maybe they�ll think it�s a computer error or something.

So that�s why I hate bringing stuff back late.

So Grandaddy. What a stupid fucking name. I�ve heard it dropped (much louder than a pin, I should add) a couple of times, but I always figured it was a rapper.

You�d think that someone who can write a kickass lyric (for a futureshock song!) like �Hewlett�s daughter / I forgot her / now I�m treating water / and waste at night� could come up with a less bombastic band name.

Asshole.

I fucking hate Grandaddy.

Oh wait, I don�t. I really like Grandaddy. Oops!

So I did some research on allmusic.com , and of course ended up spending an hour learning about bands I probably should already know about, and I came across this amusing story about another band that I avoided based solely on nomenclature.

You gotta understand, the folks that write for allmusic are writers writers writers, and score points with astute bon-mots and succinct �I can�t believe he summarized a complex artist�s entire career in one sentence, and with flair� kinda style. They don�t play it blue, they�re never sensational, and they back everything up with totally logical examples. If I made a comment about a band, and later learned that an allmusic reviewer was present, I�d run away. I think some of them have earned permission to roll their eyes at God.


Listening to: Grandaddy
Reading:
Background: Street cleaner
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie