2002-10-20 - 7:58 p.m.

There was a bee on my bus today. It kept flying head first into the plexiglass window, over and over again, trying to escape, each time thinking that there was nothing preventing him from doing so.

I watched it, remembering something about how bees do little dances to communicate directions to a particularly delicious flower, or another hive, or what not. I was wondering about a bee�s sense of direction. Does he know he�s moving? If he does escape, is he going to think he�s miles away?

Who put that tree there?

...I don�t remember this flower.

Most of the windows were closed, but there was one a crack open, right by me. He kept missing it, like there was an invisible point beyond which he could not go.

After much futility, he started trying other parts of the bus. We were almost at the station. I followed his progress.

Three guys noticed him, and tried to smash him, but he got out of the way in time.

The bus pulled in to Lechmere, and I got off. As far as I know, the bee never did.


Listening to: Doves
Reading:
Background: cooking
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie