2002-11-05 - 4:07 p.m.

Productive day off so far--I think I finalized the baby mix. Took me long enough, but I�m glad I waited.

1) Linus and Lucy--Vince Guaraldi Trio (that�s the jazzy Charlie Brown theme song)

2) Gling Glo�--Bjork (also jazzy and sweet)

3) Small Car--Marvin Pontiac (segue to rock)

4) The Guitar (The Lion Sleeps Tonight)--They Might Be Giants

5) Here Come the Martian Martians--Jonathan Richman

6) Whole Lotta Shakin� Goin� On--Big Star

7) There She Walks--Monks (harmless 50�s rock-bop)

8) Satellite of Love--Lou Reed

9) Put Me On Top--Aimee Mann (I almost chose Superball, but there�s a slightly jarring distorted guitar track)

10) Circus Strongman Runs for PTA President--Jad Fair & Yo La Tengo

11) My Little Corner of the World--Yo La Tengo

12) I Feel Beautiful--Robyn Hitchcock

13) World Before Columbus--Suzanne Vega (about her baby daughter)

14) Pink Moon--Nick Drake

15) Arkansas--John Linnell

16) Watching the Wheels--John Lennon

17) Sturdies Bay--The Softies (that�s the uber-precious, even by their standards, track with no words)

18) Speeding Motorcycle--Mary Lou Lord

19) Why Does the Sun Shine?--They Might Be Giants

20) Song of Joy--Half Japanese (happy, playful, and one of the best closing tracks ever)

I�m pretty pleased with jelly on top with the song selection and track order, but keep in mind this is intended for a one-year-old girl. If either of you two readers find anything inappropriate with this mix, please let me know before noon tomorrow.


Listening to: Half Jap
Reading:
Background: "If I could do Do The Collapse again, I'd delete Hold On Hope." --Robert Pollard
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie