2002-11-12 - 2:28 a.m.

Can someone please tell me me why we're going to war with Iraq?

It just doesn't make any sense.

It's like constantly threatening someone at work, and who works outside of your department, 'cause you hate him, �cause you don�t feel like he�s following the policies and procedures, but all the while knowing that the enemy you just made has massive dirt on you that could get you fired or worse.

Again--it just doesn't make any sense.

I mean, come on. It really, really, really just doesn't make any sense at all.

Or is it like well, we already fucked things up, so it doesn't matter what we do anymore? Are we punishing people for hating us? Are we that egocentric? Do we have that many balls, where we can afford to have a few shot off and still have at least two?

I'm serious--I'm not claiming to be knowledgeable at all about this. I don't even think anybody is--we're all just being patriotic right now, huh?

But, seriously, I really want someone to sit me down and explain why it's necessary for someone to sit down with me and explain all of this.

How do you handle your problems, dear Reader? Ignore Iraq for a second.

I mean, everyone fucks up. Don�t you acknowledge your own fuck-ups when you deal with your own problems? Even if you hate the other person, don�t you try to see that person�s side?

And even then, even if you truly want to go after that person that you hate, even if you want to ignore the roadblock, don�t you stop and think to yourself, hey, if I go after this person, they could hurt me, and maybe consider changing your tactics somewhat?

Do you think hey, they could cripple me. Hey, they could hurt people I love. They could make my world bleak and loveless, they could kill everyone I hold dear, but I don�t care. It means more to me to hunt them down and kill them. I don�t care how long it takes That�ll solve every problem, and no other problems will occurr in the process.

If you decide not to go after someone with full force, if you decide not to terminate with extreme prejudice, �cause you realized that this person could hurt you to such an extent that you�d be better off with your life intact and the mental capacity to just think that said person is an asshat than to turn your life into a sad shamble while dragging that person down with you, then you�ve successfully used politics to deal with a problem.

Tough choice? Not one you wanna make? Wanna lay someone�s neck square under the guillotine for making the wrong decisions for you? That�s fine, because that�s what you can do with politicians.

Politicians decide when to appease, and when to go to war. Unfortunately, they�ve decided to forego politics, and jump straight to war, which means that they�re not actually doing their jobs right now.

I�m way over my head here, I know. But this whole thing really doesn�t make any sense right now, and I think I�ve earned the privilege of bewilderment.

At least George Sr. had the whole Iraq invading Kuwait is like Hitler invading Czechoslovakia thing going on.

I don�t think the Hitler card bluff is working right now, at least on me.

Maybe I don�t understand it �cause I can�t believe that we�re that evil.

One of the best quotes ever from News Radio was when the writers decided to make the office an outer space news office from the future, and Khandi Alexander announced that rebel planes destroyed the Death Star, and how her thoughts and prayers, as well as the thoughts and prayers of the entire station, went out to the countless victims of that needless tragedy.

I dunno. Now I�m in way, way, way over my head.

Still, I can�t really, and I�ve been thinking about it for awhile now, come up with a situation I�ve faced in my life where proving a point via rash and kinda hypocritical ideology, backed with force, is truly worth being faced with the reality and consequence of getting knocked down several pegs, to the point where the whole question has been rendered meaningless, now that I�m on the same level or below.

If I�m in a position of power, where my power keeps people in line to the point where they�re afraid to use dishonest tactics that could blow open the entire power structure, and I then arbitrarily decide to force my own ideology down the throat of someone who already hates me, who is envious of my power, and who then defensively no longer cares about the supposed power I wield, and who then decides to embrace the society-disrupting weapons that were supposedly kept in check by the fact that I had power in the first place... well, I�m not going to have any power anymore.

This should be obvious.

If my country really cares about defending my own personal interests, and my freedom, and my life, if they�re really sticking up for me as a person, perhaps they shouldn�t get involved in the business of swatting at bee hives to send a message to bees, and then walking away, job done, to some underground bunker, leaving me vulnerable to stings from nowhere.


Listening to: Sebadoh
Reading:
Background: cars
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie