2002-11-27 - 3:17 a.m.

It's going to snow tomorrow.

Remember back, when we had no clue if or when it was ever going to snow or not snow?

That will it, or won�t it joy, and eventual anticipointment?

I remember one precious and awkward pre-teen winter where it snowed every weekend for two months. Started every Friday night, ended every Sunday afternoon. Zero snow days off.

But there was always hope. Forecast sayz: expect zero to eight inches of snow sometime within the next week, I guess. Remember that?

Now we (in Boston) have

...Le Rain! ...Le Sleet! ...Lemanowicz!, the hardworking, closet dwelling weatherman who once gave seven or eight special updates in a one two hour block of my own TV watchin'.

I really feel for dedicated �ol 90-hour-week Lemanowicz. I envision him at home, turning his wife down for some 1am lovin�, so he can check the weather via some weird and expensive satellite thingie hooked up to NASA, while at the same time reading and writing his work e-mails via one of those masochistic remote home-work linkups. Perpetually afraid of that skank Fitzgibbon, who the station supposedly hired in hopes of preventing him from completely burning out.

And, not to get a flame war going (pun intended), but I�d take Lemanowicz over the less than subtle Al Kaprelian any day.

...when it comes to weather forecasts, that is.

Speaking of which, I�m watching Lemanowicz right now (on rebroadcast), and I just realized that it took me way to long to think, hey, why not look out my window and see if it�s actually snowing?

And it is! Rebroadcast Lemanowicz was right!

Sorry to sound like one of those goddamn Transcendentalists (frickin� Luddites), but I love snow.

And it just might snow tomorrow, but it�s also snowing right now!

Sometimes, life is very demanding. Sometimes, it gives a little back.

Even though I don�t live in a crazy B.U. borough anymore, even though I�m the only person in my lonely neighborhood that�s still awake, and even though 20% of my adverbs are eternally actually, and 40% of the verbs in this entry are either snow or snowing, I�m going to go outside and play in the snow. And watch it. And be cold. And be very, very happy.

Did you know that in Somerville, they have over one different word for snow?

Postscript--just went out and danced around barefoot along the sidewalk, much to the slowing down of passing cars.

I�m taking tomorrow off as my floating holiday (�cause I worked Veteran�s Day), and that�s two back to back two consecutive days off, and total of four, over a span of six days (Saturday-Thursday), definitely a record.

I froze the soles of my feet, and then warmed them back to life �neath my trusty radiator. Beat that, Sharper Image...


Listening to:
Reading:
Background: Snow
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie