2003-01-08 - 3:48 a.m.

So the Art Gurl called me up (at work) from kinda but kinda not outta nowhere. I�ve been Johnny Hermitcakes of late, and it was nice of her to knock on my cave door.

We made plans for drinks tomorrow evening, no big deal, and when I got home I popped in My Dinner with Andre, which I had just recently rented.

If she hadn�t called me, Andre Gregory�s character still woulda reminded me of her (except she doesn�t casually mention bawling hysterically every ten minutes), and Wallace Shawn is the perfect me--the fumbly, intrigued-yet-secretly-jealously-hostile dude that knows there�s something wrong with drinking Starbucks coffee, but who doesn�t care, versus the life and culture embracing fearless girl that always lands on her feet because she spontaneously planned it, and who can easily put you ill-at-ease �cause just knowing that the Gap is bad just isn�t good enough--you have to live it, and for the right reasons.

She�s the adventure, the drama, the unforeseen. The dancing around in Poland with total strangers. I�m a bald playwright with a passion for the domesti-kitchicy and moreover for an electric blanket I already have.

I dunno what to say about the coincidence between the call and the film--it was a nice one, and I�m glad that I notice things like that.

And, like the film, I�m sure tomorrow�s drinkin� date will bear no discernible point--there is no point with her--it�ll be a nice conversation between someone who has absolutely no problems talking about herself, and a lovable, affable spaz trying to keep up.

I love the Art Gurl--the mysterious oracle who reveals herself in slow timed waves that never crash.

I know why she needs me now--I finally figured it out. Not the token Boston guy, or attractive yet safe young man who will dote, but who will not follow home.

It�s the fact that I�ve stayed in the same place for a long time--she can seek out new life and new civilization till the cows come home speaking Swahili, yet can still have a little tiny mooring post in me.

And that�s cool with both of us, I guess. I�m talking outta my ass right now �cause it�s nearly four in the morning.

Gotta stop working 3pm-11pm. Oh wait. I have to do that.


Listening to: The Cardigans
Reading: The Corrections
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie