2003-01-10 - 4:35 a.m.

I�m kinda bored, and putting-offy too, and I thought I might propose a little challenge just for kicks. I�ve always thought that the first few lines of a song are crucially underrated--eternally overshadowed by the best lines. But what makes us happy when a treasured song comes on? The first few lines--the tone setters, the shuttle busses that take us to the the heart of that memory mall, those first few steps we later shun.

Here�s a few first lines--see if you can guess �em--sign my guestbook with the answers, and if anyone gets most* of �em right--song and artist if possible--(without Googling it), I�ll buy that fool a frosty pint at a local tavern.

1) Don't start that talkin', I could talk all night

2) Beyond, below, above, a fantasy that swarms at the center of...

3) Coded-ancient the crease, unlock the timers and strike the chimers in my sleep

4) Walkin� to the bus stop, couldn�t wait to get off

5) I�ve lost a friend, and I don�t know why

6) Blind date with a chancer, we had oysters and dry lancers

7) I used to ring you and put down the phone, once burned a hole in your dress

8) If I�m right, sometimes I forget I�m right, shallow as the brook out back

9) I have a yellow and navy sundress, maybe I�ll wear it today

10) Whatever you want from me, whatever you want I�ll do, I�ll try to squeeze a drop of blood...

11) Ten o�clock in the afternoon, you�d better come by here soon

12) Here she comes, you better watch your step

13) If I were to walk the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, oh first I�d go the room where they keep the Cezanne

14) I�m driving in my car, and a man come on the radio

15) Can you hear them, the helicopters are in New York, no need for words now

16) I lost myself on a cool damp night, I gave myself in that misty light

17) Why do you come here? And why-ha-hy-ha-hy-ha-hy-ha-hy-ha-hy do you hang around?

18) I�m told the case is now closed, so I can come to my senses, but when the question is posed, I�ll have this meager defense

19) I�m a highschool lover, and you�re my favourite flavor

20) Life is dull, live is grey, at its best it�s just OK, but I�m happy to report, life is also short

21) You�re damned if you do, and you�re damnder if you never try at all

22) I don�t want to change your mind, I don�t want to think about your mind

23) Everything is exactly right, when I walk around here drunk every night, with an open container from 7-11

24) Color in sky Prussian blue, scarlet fleece changes hue, crimson ball sinks from view

25) I will never know �cause you will never show, c�mon and love me now

Bonus question--Estaba pensando sobreviviendo con mi sister en New Jersey

If you get two, if you get all twenty-five, that�s cool. Don�t be shy--give it a whirl and see what you can come up with.

*(I�ll interpret what I mean by most, thank you very much)


Listening to: Suzanne Vega--not an answer, by the way
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie