2003-01-11 - 12:42 p.m.

Aaaaaargh! No hot water in the apartment!

I remember when I was traveling about Europe with very little money. The only thing I had of value was my pre-paid student eurail pass, which got me on almost any train for free.

Since housing wasn't really in the budget, I'd take a night train someplace really far away when I'd get sleepy--and I'd get my sleep there. Pretty ingenious, huh? I'd get off at dawn, and take it back to wherever I wanted to be, and get some more sleep in the process.

Problem? No showers. I'd frequently sneak into youth hostels for those--they were always in hallways and what not.

One cruel German hostel I snuck into had blocked access to the good showers, but I found one in what was probably considered a public bathroom that just happened to have a shower--no hot water, but who was I to be picky? I had to hit the gimme some freezin' water knob every 30 seconds, too, like a lab rat behind the learning curve hitting the shock me please button over and over again.

But I had the stench of youth on my side, and I was less acclimated to the comforts I've so grown to enjoy in my old age. I took that shower with pride--hours later, my ponytail was frozen stiff, a dubious badge of honor.

I tried to remember that experience as I bravely stepped into my own Cosby Brownstone shower, with little pink flamingo non-slip appliqu�s on the floor.

I did manage to get my feet wet.

I did manage to get the hell outta that shower pretty frickin' quick, for a man my age.

I did manage to wash my (ponytail free) hair in the sink. At least I did that.

Work bound--thank God its a Saturday.


Listening to: Ken Nordine
Reading: The Corrections
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie