2003-01-13 - 12:14 p.m.

The Fetish Fair was pretty fun--kinda what pretty much anyone woulda expected, so there's no real reason to get into it. I did get a black leather studdy bracelet, which I plan on wearing all the time, and a neck chain (with a lock), and a black studdy choker, which I plan on never wearing--just owning.

It was just nice to be out and about with the Roommate, daylight, cityness, none of that lonely Somerville stuff.

I have Boston completely memorized, and I've done Boston so many times that it seems kinda rote at this point--if I go into the city city for any reason other than work, its usually 'cause I need something specific or otherwise to meet up with someone, never for wanderin' like a good citizen, so its always a get off at this T-stop, and then a walk down this street, turn left, and walk down this one kinda thing.

But there I was, with the Roommate, at 2:30 in the afternoon, with the whole resta the day ahead of us.

Dunkie's for some iced coffee, and then a cautious walk through the Garden over iced pond. That was fun.

After that, Newbury street, and I was able to suspend the clich� long enough to get a damn good deal on a zipper sweater at Banana Republic, and then to the Hempest (that place has the Roommate written all over it), and from there to Fluevog's, so the Roommate could replace boots she's had for five years.

While I was waiting for her transaction to become complete, I noticed a $135 pair of men's boots in my size, marked down to $60.

Guess what I'm wearin' to work today?

Devoured a Buffalo Tom at The Other Side (they got all new art up--they finally painted over that weird A-ha video mural on the second floor), with a pitcher of PBR to wash it all down.

From there, coupla Buds at the Last Drop, and a little football action too. We decided to call it a day, and cab it back the Cosby Brownstone.

But someone used his city boy instincts--I hadn�t heard a #1 bus go by for a while, and figured one might be due. Why not, I suggested, take that to Harvard, and use saved cab dollars on more beer?

And lo, what did appear from the East, but the #1?

Oh yeah, and as it crossed the Mass Ave bridge, all happy, safe, comfortable, and warm passengers did look out at the skyline. Two got off one stop after Central, had a coupla more Buds at my personal favorite--the People�s Republic, and then cabbed it back.

Oh, and the TV watchin� was nice too.

I condensed a weekend into a Sunday, and I was happy for hours in a row. A man could make a career outta this.


Listening to: Sebadoh
Reading: The Corrections
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie