2003-02-04 - 12:56 a.m.

I was on the bus home tonight, and it was a little chilly. I thought the roof latch dealie at the back might be open--you know, that emergency exit at the top of the bus that is sometimes cracked for ventilation in the summer.

It turned out to be closed after all, and, bored, I read the sticker that described how to crack it open, and how to use it to escape the bus.

Emergency exit ONLY, it said in huge red letters.

Who on earth would ever try to climb out of that thing when the bus got to their stop, I chucked to myself, and if there was anyone on earth who would attempt such a stunt, would they actually be dissuaded by a sticker?

It wasn�t a horrible joke--had a friend been on the bus with me, I would have taken my chances with it.

But after thinking it, I realized--how many identical busses had I been on on? 4,000 trips? 5,000? And that joke had never occurred to me?

I don�t know what to think of it. Should I be upset with myself for not noticing something so glaringly obvious? Or should I tow the isn�t it great that you can realize something new about the world everyday, even after all these years line?

I don�t know how to file that one.


Listening to: Sonic Youth
Reading: The Wishbones
Background: tv static
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie