2003-02-25 - 2:21 a.m.

Two quick notes--the first is probably not a paid endorsement.

1) Ummmmm, why didn't anybody tell me about Steak-umms earlier? Christ, those things are good. I had three when I got home n' the whole building probably smells like �em even still--in fact, that lingering scent of gristle is making me hungry again... for Steak-umms.

2) I was strolling Downtown Crossing today at my usual quick pace. Three euro-kids, side by side by side, were walking in my direction, taking up pretty much the whole wide sidewalk, and although I was already in the appropriate sidewalking lane, I bore right to the point of almost scraping my shoulder against brick. I even tucked my left arm behind my back so as to take up less lateral space. The euro-kids did nothing to get outta my way.

My friendly pedestrian representative of the city of Boston rule has been eroding over the years--the above depiction of events is routine for me, and it�s gotten to the point where, after making concessions when I�m already right to begin with, I�m not about to stop walking so I can be passed by a group.

So I squared my left shoulder and just kept walking forward at an undiminished clip--not my fault if you run into me.

The collision was not gentle, but I was prepared. The euro-kid whipped around, by which time I was 20 feet away, and shouted...

I�m SORRY!

...but in such a way as to indicate the opposite. He said it pedagogically, he said it pissedoffedly. He didn�t mean it--he just wanted, expected, his apology.

I don�t take shit from spoiled euro-tourists, and especially from euro-teenz. If you wanna be obnoxious on the way to the discotheque, or the caf�s, or a f�tbol game, be my frickin guest, but not in my city, and certainly not when I�m on my lunch break. I don�t care the currency--money don�t buy your ass not getting kicked.

I shook my head and raised my arms forgivingly, and sang...

that�s OK!

...go me.


Listening to: If Elliott Smith and PJ Harvey had a baby, Elvis Costello as godmother, Sean Lennon godfather, her name would be Thalia Zedek
Reading: Bryson
Background: COPS--I'm serious--it's a good show
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie