2003-02-27 - 11:50 a.m.

As a child, I wondered what was really behind the cardigan facade. Did you every yell at people? Did you ever do things you felt bad about later? What were your secrets?

Was there something else, something sinister, something other than sneakers in that briefcase?

Did you sneak off the studio to smoke butts? Did you secretly hate people? Kids?

I dunno. I don�t care if I�m wrong, but I think there really is a neighborhood where folks just stop by, where everyone is tolerated--no, appreciated--where evil isn�t lurking, where a trip to the music store can take all day and be different and fun each time, where there�s so much stuff just lying around each house, just lying around anyone�s imagination, that nobody can claim boredom.

Some people are love. Some people just can�t help but gently nudge the world, their communities, a half-step towards ideal.

You showed us how to be good neighbors. And you either lied through your teeth, and really well, for 74 years, or you led a beautiful life.

I love you, Mr. Rogers.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie