2003-04-17 - 3:27 a.m.

After the awesome, awesome, awesome Yo La Tengo show, the Roommate and I hung around for a smoke.

It was that get the hell outta here twilight where nobody�s being a jackass just yet, but everyone knows the drill.

We got movin�, though, and we bought T-shirts. At the merch stand, though, I nudged the Roommate--behind her were Ira and Georgia.

They had just played for hours, though, and I made my usual leave �em alone decision.

Kinda regretted my decision not to seize, though, like I always do regret, even though I tell myself otherwise and usually believe it.

Leaving, coat buttoned, I see Ira randomly walking the hallway, and I ask if I can have my picture taken with him. He says yes! in a hold on a second kinda way, and I believe him.

And he obliged. It was really nice--the right way, I think, to do it. I wasn�t lurking, I was leaving, and I took a passing opportunity without being a jackass about it.

I strap my arm behind his shoulders and, waiting for the Roommate to get the camera ready, I tell him

My name is John, and I�ve been a fan for years. I really love your music, and I thought your show was great. I�m sure you�ve heard this speech a thousand times. Thanks.

Not the most brilliant thing on earth to say, but apropos.

The flash goes off, the picture has been taken, and I shake his hand, and I don�t wanna let go. I thank him about three more times, and as he leaves, I tell him to

Rock on.

I�m still hurting over this. I told Ira of Yo La Tengo to, of all things, rock on. I can understand keep on truckin�--that�s funny. Or take care--that�s sincere. Even see ya later--that�s just being a nervous dork.

But rock on? I might as well have yelled out Freebird! between songs.

I was impressed with the crowd--they sent a message--Boston loves Yo La Tengo.

I think my witless closing comment might have single-handedly undermined the band�s image of my home city--yeah, they were pretty psyched to see us, but I think that it�s cause they wanted us to rock on. Like, hey, kids, rock n� roll, nobody tells us where to go? If we had played an hour long cover of Freebird, would they have even noticed? Um, let�s never go back to Boston. They�re a bunch of idiots that don�t understand our music.

And for that, I apologize.


Listening to: velvets
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie