2003-04-18 - 3:56 a.m.

Just finished Groundhog Day--the Bill Murray movie. God, I love Bill Murray. I don�t think an explanation is necessary.

Anyway, I watched it on my �puter, and the DVD came with a little Hearts of Darkness bonus mini-movie about the movie.

I love those. Especially the way I watch movies--at 1AM or abouts, and the plan is to go to bed when the film finishes.

Those silly meta films are so great, though. The main actors are never there, it�s just the writer who�se bitter over his script getting hacked to pieces, the director who makes sure the song he co-co-wrote for the film gets inserted somewhere so he can get his royalty check, and a cast of minor actors who seem way too enthusiastic.

I love the character actors the most--you get scenes captioned with Lance Culperman--Man In Hallway, and they say something like In a way, this film was all about Man In Hallway.

I dunno, it�s late, and there�s tons of good jokes here. There�s your early morning thing to think about. Make your own jokes.

Anyway, I love when I budget two hours to watch a film and then go to bed, and then I get two hours of a film and then one of those free self-indulgent documentaries. It�s like planning on meeting one friend at 6:00 and another at 8:00. And of course, you stay too late with the first friend, but each extra minute is all the more delicious and bad for you.

That�s the great thing about regret. It�s later.


Listening to: John Cale
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie