2003-04-25 - 1:35 a.m.

I love sushi. But I can get it pretty much anywhere in Boston. Sure, one can debate the merits of this restaurant vs. that, but if I want sushi right now, I�m gonna go to a place close to wherever I am at the time.

But take Addis in the South End. Or Dick�s Last Resort in the Back Bay. The Common Ground in Milton (if it�s still there). Argue if you will, but you can�t get just that, or even a close approximation, anywhere else but there.

I live by Davis. Davis has Redbones, one of those truly unique restaurants that folks go out of their ways to get to.

But I don�t like Redbones.

And I�ve tried, believe you me. Went there with Randy Research and my dear friend H. a long time ago (we all went way out of our ways to get there), for one of our Big Company Dining Club nights. Horrible. The food, mind you.

After moving to Somerville, got a sandwich I was in awe of as it destroyed my stomach. I think I�m still digesting it. It was some kind of Jamaican jerk pulled pork thingie. I tried so hard to finish it. I licked my wounds instead, and swore never to return.

And tonight, getting served a fifteen dollar plate of not very tasty punk raw ribs by a punk rawk vegetarian chick, with art full of skulls about and meat meat meat meat meat everywhere. I think I saw someone drinking meat. Meat in the napkins. Meat to be scraped from the ceiling fans. And in the soap in the men�s room.

There was meat smudged on my beer glass, and that was my fault. And I saw people flinging food three times, but not in a cool, hey, we throw our food at people around here kinda way.

I love Redbones, though--it makes me happy that there�s a unique establishment in my neighborhood. I�m sure I�ll go there again soon.

It just sucks that I don�t like the food very much.


Listening to: Hayden
Reading:
Background: Flesh-eating virus story on FOX 25
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie