2003-05-25 - 12:43 a.m.

Oh the glow the glow the glow.

The linger. The ease.

That food was amazing. And the sangrias. And the fortified desert wine, and the arroz con leche.

Dal�, fulla rich folks, and the Roommate and I stared at each other with rain outside. We spent four hours in that marvelous restaurant. The waiter let me order in Spanish.

I counted backwards from sixty before we left, embellishing every second, playing two spoons like maracas before the very final drawn out one, massaging my forehead with the finger for the rich folks who could afford the meal whenever they wanted, but had to wait for our table--not out of juvenile spite so much, but because those four hours, that day even, from the donning of plague-ridden bowling shoes, to mussels and Old Speckled Hen at the the Burren, to dining at Dal�, was just to do so, was whatever we wanted to do.

Sure, there was planning involved. But that�s luxury for me. Luxury is not having to work, but still having a little extra money, and using it. It�s having a rough plan, but not being fenced in by a plan. And it�s doing something special with someone you love, and special because it�s something that you almost never, ever do.

Especially when it�s a launching pad for more awesome stuff, and especially when you don�t think about the past or the future for a couple hours--when the act is not an audition.

All day, I said with bravado three days OFF. �Cause why not? It was a fact. It�s not going to jinx it if I say it. At the restaurant, I said I�m not THIRTY. And it�s true. I should be glad about that. Saying it is not going to hasten it.

Tomorrow, I�ll be a bit more timid about it. I�m sure I�ll be able to, on the train to work on Tuesday, list fifty things I would have liked to accomplish over that long weekend.

And today is? And today is not Tuesday, and it is most certainly not 1pm on Tuesday, and I�m not getting, worried and pissy, outta Government Center station.

And when I get up tomorrow, I�m gonna freak out �cause I didn�t hear the alarm. And then it�ll hit me, that I don�t have to work. And then I�ll make coffee. And I get to do that again on Monday.


Listening to:
Reading:
Background: SNL
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie