2003-05-30 - 2:24 a.m.

I'm getting pretty good at liberating show-tags offa the Roommate's wrist. It's an acquired skill.

Frank Black was awesome on so many levels, and I guess there's no point getting in over my head talking about him.

Oh, and when he shakes your hand, it stays shook.

Best part of seeing someone live? That moment when you think Jeezus, I�ve spent probably eleventeen hundred hours listening to this person�s music. Were I pagan, this person would be one of my gods. But here I am, watching this person actually perform the music I worship, right in front of me, like Ganesh but with less arms.

Or something like that. It is weird, though, to see a hero play live. Like it�s proof.

I took a picture of him and the Roommate after the show. Major boyfriend points. If she's not shy about it, maybe I'll post it. Oh, and I forgot to mention that the Roommate took the pictures I posted in my last entry, and scanned them, and edited them in Quark. She�s a genius. Happy now?

(There go the boyfriend points.)

After the show, the Roommate started jonesing for a Hi-Fi slice. So did Black Francis, apparently, and there he was, with friends, and he was lugging his own guitar.

That kinda said it all for me. Here's this guy that I saw at Axis or Avalon (I always forget which is which--they switched, didn�t they?) a few months ago, and he played to maybe a thousand people. Rough estimate, I have no idea, but I don't like to say a lot (check my past entries--see if you can find the bastard phrase).

Anyway, even though he can pack a place, he does an acoustic show for 50 fans only, and attendance is decided democratically--first come first serve.

Gets onstage, delivers an onslaught of a performance, calls a time out to get a drink, and a smoke outside, talks with the fans, then airs out a few experiments on stage, rocks out 'till he's told to call it a night, and then unceremoniously slings his guitar case over his shoulder and gets some Hi-Fi.

I'm in his hotel room right now, and he's kinda forcing me to write this. He's calling what we're doing something like suggestioni, but I can�t make out some of the words he�s saying, and there's a bat involved if I get the answer wrong. He's in the bathroom right now, singing something about convex platitudes and a girl named Deborah. It�s nice, but I�m a little frightened.

Nah, just kidding...

Seriously.


Listening to: Marianne Nowottny
Reading: The Twenty-Seventh City
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie