2003-06-11 - 5:02 a.m.

Yeah, it�s kinda funny that Martha Stewart is in trouble, and I don�t know why she is, �cause I don�t care.

The sun is coming up right now, and the birds are singing. I�m looking forward to waking up and being a bit chilly in my apartment.

It turns out that Martha Stewart is in trouble �cause a friend of hers was involved in some way with a company that was working on a cancer drug. It was promising, a good stock to invest in. For whatever reason, the FDA or the FCC or something that governs such matters decided that they didn�t like the drug. This was amid, perhaps, other scandal. I didn�t do that much research.

The cancer drug guy, who�se name begins with a W, tried to dump his stock once he heard the bad news--I mean, it�s his company, it�s his family. Which is bad, �cause he tried to dump it before Wall Street heard the news. That�s insider trading, I think. Something like that.

And apparently he told Stewart that the company didn�t get the nod, and to dump the stock, the minute he knew about the problem, one day before the news hit Wall Street.

I�m gonna go to work tomorrow. To me, the stakes are high every day, but I never head into work thinking I might be arrested. I make a living, but I don�t have to play on that field.

I guess Martha lied about the insider information she received from the person who�se name begins with W. That�s why she�s in trouble. She�s worth a billion, or millions, I know not which, and I don�t think that she saved that much money by dumping the stock early �cause she knew it would sink. She didn�t need to dump it, but she did anyway, to save a couple hundred thousand.

In other words, she fucked up.

I fuck up, I have five years of the only real job I�ve ever had shaky on a resume. It�d suck big time, but I could figure it out.

She fucks up at the highest level, she�s screwed for life. Screwed for life.

And why is her case a big deal, anyway? Whatever happened to Enron? Why haven�t I heard about that lately? How about Cheney and his oil company?

I�ve seen a sunrise, in installments, over my shoulder, a head turn to my right every now and then. I can hear them birds. I got the Softies on my headphones, and then the Velvets. I just finished a butt. And V on DVD. I�m always worried about bills, about rent. About money. About my job. I don�t have any doilies.

But I ain�t ever gonna worry �bout the stuff Martha is sweatin� right now.

I can deal with my job tomorrow. When I go to bed, I�ll be falling asleep to those birds and their carefree chitter. I can sleep soundly to the tune of that nonsense. Nobody cares what those birds do in their spare time.


Listening to: Quasi
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie