2003-07-11 - 4:01 a.m.

There�s a time and a place for everything, and as I tried to say earlier, it sucks that I�m Senor No Update when I�m having good times. But I wanna recap quickly, if I may. �Cause if I don�t do it today, it�ll be expired milk.

So Thursday was July 3rd, which meant three day weekend, and I needed it. Got outta work at 9:00, went to Molly�s club, drank PBaaaaaas, and waited for it to become my birthday. Held court at a barstool in the corner while the Roommate went around and asked my friends to sign a thingie for me. It was a big thingie, with a suprisingly apt blown-up-photo of me on it, and I was extremely touched. Nobody, in my life had ever done something so nice for my birthday, and it was also the first time in my life that someone had done one of those let�s pass around this thing for some dude to sign for me.

I got appropriately hammered that night, but after a little nudging, and a coffee, and a long shower, I was OK to go to my folks� for a 4th of July celebration.

My dear friend R. drove us, and I was able to get her, myself, the Roommate, and her friend J. to West Roxbury without a hitch.

From there, all the food you could ever want, I got all those stupid pieces of laundry that have to be washed by themselves done, thus saving quarters, and the four of us had a great time.

We even played some wiffle ball with my brother in the mix, and that was so great. I got on a massive tear, and hit everything that came my way. That ruled. I mean, I socked some towering dingas, and I�m not even kidding.

From there back to Somavhul, but Storrow and Memorial were closed due to reveling. I had a plan to head to Forest Hills and then follow the Orange Line back, but my dear friend R. wanted to do it by highway.

Ask me directions �till the cows get hit, but I cannot do highways. I mean, I have no idea how to get from the outskirts of A to the outskirts of B at 70 MPH, and I hope to the dear lord above that I never will.

Anyway, we didn�t get very good directions, and we ended up in Winchester (very north) before we hooked up with the highway we needed to get on. Once we reached the city we were fine.

We missed a firework here or a firework there, but we got a good show at the special place in Somerville that nobody knows about. I was low on smokles, so my dear friend R. allowed me to envy the car-ed as she dropped off J.

I felt great on Saturday, and I cleaned the shit outta my room, nook by cranny by nook. That�s the kinda freedom you get, and it feels great, when you get time off from work. We went (the Roommate and I, of course) to the Neighborhood Restaurant and played chess and watched the sun set.

Sunday wasn�t so great. It was just too goddamn hot out to do anything. I had bought a toilet seat from Target. We wanted a really awesome toilet seat. Don�t laugh. Wouldn�t you wanna blue toilet seat? I mean, why not? So, I learned that there are different sizes, and that the kind of toilet I have isn�t very good with seat options.

So the Roommate and I spent a goddamn day, and a baking one at that, in search of something that cannot be described as a holy grail. And had a ten minute conversation in the Harvard Square hardware shop discussing the pros and cons of spray-paint.

On Monday, I left work a little early (and thank God, there wasn�t much going on), and headed to Jacque�s and played a kickass show. I had an excellent audience, and I played a �loose� set-list for the first time in my life--I tried new things out �cause I knew my audience would forgive a fuck-up, and when the show was over, I knew it was a success.

I love baseball. I often wonder what players feel when they get hot--when all of a sudden they start winning games nobody expected them to win. For a couple of days, I got to feel like what it feels like to blow out ballgames,

I had no belongings--just company. But not a Company. It was just a couple of days, but those were days.

I gave my Mother a gift certificate to a nice restaurant in Harvard Square for Christmas. I took tomorrow off so I could take her, but there�s thunderstorms tomorrow. But the day after that looks fine.

Another three day weekend. Score one for the team. Do I have to edit this?


Listening to: Barbra Manning
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie