2003-08-01 - 1:15 a.m.

I dunno what it is about the Sox, but if I happen to be anyplace with a TV, I'm watching them if they�re on. 45 seconds between pitches, that's OK. 30 seconds of which, the camera trained on some millionaire with a goatee making the same swing motion over and over again, five seconds of the pitcher, maybe a replay, and five seconds of the seemingly indifferent coach, s'cool with me. Some things that we do make sense only to ourselves. So I�m not even going to try to explain.

Went to the P.A. tonight to see Mittens and Choo Choo La Rouge. Mittens was excellent--kinda like a combination of Sebadoh if they were from NYC and the Strokes if they were from Western Mass.

Choo-Choo was outstanding. At least, what I heard from �em. Ever so elusive, they were hiding out at the stage area, playing their set, while I watched the BoSox lose to the lowly Rangers in extra innings.

But that�s OK. I made a decision, and I stuck with it.

By the way, and again just about a year too late, but the new Flaming Lips effort is way cool. It�s no Soft Bulletin, but nothing ever will be and I�ll kick your ass if you tell me there�s a better made album than that. Like a pitcher for a losing team that goes 16-3, 233 innings pitched for one season, and then makes an admirable recovery from Tommy John surgery the next year.


Listening to: Flaming Lips
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie