2003-11-06 - 3:53 a.m.

I have a shopping bag full of CDs that are either scratched (Flaming Lips) or questionable (Primus�Pork Soda), or both (weaker Costello albs) that I�ve yet to import into the �ol �puter.

Just put in a Heavenly disc and I�m kicking myself for boycotting it for so long. I can�t remember what the fuss and shun was over back then--I listened to it a couple of times and decided it sucked, but not in a Cornershop-let�s-see-how-far-away-from-myself-I-can-toss-this-CD kind of way, and banished it to the bottom of the pile. But that�s just the kind of band (Heavenly, mind you, not Cornershop) I would have gone for when I bought it, almost two years ago.

Anyway, aside from the one really annoying track that�s most likely the reason I benched the CD in the first place, I�ve finally made peace with the disc. It�s not great, mind you, but it�s pretty. I�ve had Tractor Rape Chain by GBV anchored in my head--I mean, I can�t get it out, and I�m trying to, and maybe Heavenly�s Starshy is just the sleeper I need to knock out the heavyweight.

I deleted some old Hotmail messages again tonight. It�s tough now, to shed--like being paid big bucks to clean a room full of random stuff in someone�s house that�s already clean and then realizing that you�re supposed to throw stuff away but you don�t want to make the wrong decision, even though you know the owner will never notice anything missing.

I made duplicate keys to my apartment today for my dear friend H. I haven�t mentioned this here �cause I honestly have no idea what to expect from her staying with the Roommate and me, and I don�t wanna jinx anything. I�m looking forward to her visit.

I�ve said goodbye to so many friends leaving Boston that it�s starting to get formulaic. It�ll be nice to welcome one back. My family has already invited her to Thanksgiving.

I got an e-mail from the office manager at the Big Company asking what date would be best for the Big Company Christmas Party. The event of events.

Time starts now.


Listening to: Heavenly
Reading: John Collier
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie