2003-12-16 - 12:49 a.m.

The Roommate and I were well prepared for our impending party, and left in the afternoon to volunteer at the raffle table at the punk rock fair. It was a good time--we were right at the entrance so I got to see all the people enter. I was supposed to sell calendars to benefit the event, but most people visited the table for the raffle, so I danced with the calendar for two whole hours to draw attention to myself and it. Whether it helped or whether everyone thought I was a weirdo I cannot say, but my heart was in the right place.

The fair was absolutely packed and most of the better vendors had sold their good merchandise by the time we got relieved, even though it had only been two hours. We walked around and did some shopping for each other, and then left for home.

My dear friend S. was waiting for us there--I had given him my keys, and we hung out for a while before folks started arriving.

Everyone, I believe, enjoyed themselves, and I did a good job presiding over our naughty Yankee swap. The Roommate's mini-cheesecakes and chocolate covered strawberries and peanut butter cannonballs were delightful. My gluehwein was well received, even though the mouse on my computer stopped working and I couldn't sign on to get the recipe.

Oh, and my seven hour party mix for the iPod rocked rocked rocked. Parties have always freaked me out a little, but I feel far more comfortable when I'm surrounded by my music.

There was one event of note--I won't name names for fear of embarrassing anyone, but I will say that my career party bragging rights now include a guest making a trip to the emergency room (she's okay now).

Aside from breaking a wine glass towards the very end, I didn't (to my knowledge) do anything stupid, waking up with a hangover, true, but without a dreadful sense of imminent doom.

S. and H. and the Roommate and her brother and I got some Bickfords, and then we went home and I watched the Patriots. It was nice having the day to recover, and the Roommate and H. and I walked through the snowstorm to visit Devlin's and get a quick bite in before returning home to watch the Simpsons.

And there you go. I started work at 3:00 today, so I got a chance to sweep all the floors and do a bunch of dishes and Pledge the coffee table and wash the kitchen floor and purge the place of garbage and stuff like that. My warranty and a half-hour of patience provided me with a new mouse for my �puter. I got the Roommate a good gift today.


Listening to: Iron & Wine
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie