2004-01-07 - 11:58 a.m.

One of the perks of working 3:00 to 11:00 is that I get a little extra freedom in the morning/afternoon. Usually I try to take care of stuff around the apartment ('cause I can't at night lest I draw legitimate noise complaints from the neighbors), but sometimes I try to take advantage of my extra time and do something fun.

Yesterday I walked to Porter, then Harvard, then Central, then Kendall, across the Salt and Pepper bridge, and finally to work. It wasn't that cold yet, like it's going to be, apparently, for the rest of the winter.

After Central, on the way to Kendall, at that big U-haul center, I saw a bunch of grackles splishing around in a big puddle. Nobody was around so I stood and watched them for a good five minutes. Those grackles were really getting into it, too.

Perhaps seeing something like that was just my good fortune, but if that is indeed a daily occurrence, somebody ought to put a bench there.


Listening to: Low
Reading: In Revere, in Those Days
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie