2004-01-09 - 1:48 a.m.

I've been buying CDs lately. I just can't stop myself. The parent inside of me that keeps telling its kid you got plenty of CDs at home that you haven't listened to enough, the parent that's right, by the way, has gotten mutinied.

And it's true too--I got the five-disc + 80 page booklet + DVD Guided By Voices box set from the Roommate for Christmas. And Steve from My Own Worst Enemy gave me their new CD, and Corin from the Pills gave me one of their CDs too.

But it's after Christmas now, and I've coveted some discs for awhile now. Not a sound decision excuse, but that can shove itself for a bit, and it�s better than Marge Simpson�s it�ll be good for the economy rationalization.

I heads/tailed it (best two of three) every day at work and lost 'till I got desperate and finally won in the bitter cold outside of Newbury Comics. I almost dropped the quarter in the wind, but that didn't stop me from taking Robyn Hitchcock's Luxor home with me, along with a used and surely out of print copy of Bettie Seveert's Kid's Allright CD single.

And today at work I went to stupid, stupid, stupid FYE. I refuse to go to that place, and Sam Goody, and Strawberry's, and whatever.

Actually, I think that every single new CD I've bought from an actual retail store for the past ten years has either been from the now gone Tower Records on Mass Ave (fond, fond memories) or Newbury Comics.

I'm very, very spoiled, actually.

Anyway, stupid FYE is going out of business, so I poked around and found the new GBV album, which I've been promising myself for awhile (20% off), and I got a good used Beta Band CD for $4 (which is a pretty reasonable price) and a used Columbia House CD with a Kristin Hersh song on it for $0.24.

So now I have some new stuff to listen to.

And that makes me happy.

I guess once I get some new music, I get hooked on new music. Coupled with repressing the desire to blow a ton of money on CDs, and working some OT, the compulsion to get some new music is so impossible to resist, I might as well buy into it and feel good about it.

As long as I don't go overboard, I'll be okay, and, hell, I might as well get that Iron & Wine CD and promise myself that'll be the end of it.

Three things--

1) GBV is like football--some chicks get it, some chicks hate it, and some chicks just like that it makes their boyfriends happy.

2) Ignore that comment.

3) The new Hitchcock CD is absolutely incredible. Part of the reason why I waited so long to buy this CD is that I�m afraid that my biggest hero in the entire universe is going to start getting soft (in a non Soft Boys way, mind you). While his newest CD has done nothing to assuage this fear, it�s done nothing to worsen it either, and, with the exception of A Star For Bram (the star on that album cover is tattooed on my left arm, by the way), it�s his best album in quite some time, and he�s put out some outstanding albums in that subjective time. It�s like he got another chance to do Jewels for Sophia.


Listening to: Luxor by Robyn Hitchcock
Reading: In Revere, In Those Days by Roland Merullo
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie