2004-02-09 - 9:51 a.m.

That was a nice weekend. Friday night I got an awesome sandwich at the Cambridge Bukowski's and then the Roommate and I visited the Abbey to see the Dents.

Saturday we got up early and attempted, for an hour, to get Sox-Yankees tickets--she via internet and I on my cellphone. I got through once only to have the call terminate for some unknown reason right at the end (it was automated), but got through a second time and purchased two upper bleachers (the section dubbed "the nosebleeds" either due to the fact that they're so high up and far away from the plate or because they're the cheapest tickets and where the rowdiest fans sit) for a Sox-Yankees game in September. (I only got two tickets because they only let you buy two at a time because of the demand.)

Despite the wintry mix outside, we managed to head to Target and get a few things and then home for cleaning and laundry and goofing around the house.

On Sunday we met up with Julianne and walked through the freezing wind to Porter only to have our well-laid sushi plans dashed. We walked to Alewife and hung out at the strip mall there for awhile--the Roommate and I have been trying to track down the Lord of the Rings version of the Risk board game for a month now, and we searched for it in the Toys R Us there. The search was fun, but ultimately proved unsuccesful.

From there, we went to the huge Newbury Comics and I got an Elliott Smith single and a Robyn Hitcock DVD I had long been hunting for, and then home.

The Roommate and I watched the Jad Fair movie my buddy lent to me and then the Simpsons and so on.

Kicking off my first Saturday off from work in over a month with Yankees tickets was awesome, I got to play some guitar, the apartment looks a little better, and there were no huge weekend activities scheduled so I didn't have to worry about anything for two days in a row.

Good times.


Listening to: They Might be Giants
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie