2004-03-02 - 12:40 a.m.

This weekend, I saw an optometrist and got a new pair of glasses, and am in the process of completely redoing my room--moving things and all of the complications that arise from that, and tons of normal cleaning as well as finally getting to clean behind normally immobile objects.

I also drank lots of beer, awesomized the kitchen, did two loads of laundry, helped carry the Roommate's bed and mattress down the hill to Julianne's new place (we're neighbors!), and the next day we got her a celebratory brunch at Supreme Kitchen. I also bought a new pair of jeans, went on two mid-sized walks (to Harvard and to the South End) with the Roommate, drank lots of coffee and that gatorade propel water, finally threw away my carpet cleaner (I said goodbye, though), had apps and a nice beer and an espresso martini at the Indo, and remembered why Marche' is never a good idea. And we got a new shower curtain in Jamaica Plain, and several more of the best Buds available on tap at the Gallway House, where my dad used to take me when I was a kid.

Recently the Roommate and I have purchased concert tickets for a ton of shows, including the Mountain Goats for this Friday, and... Sebadoh.

On March sixth, I'll be able to pick up my new bass guitar.

Fairly soon, I get to pick up the two Art Gurl lithographs the Roommate and I had framed (one each) and the other thing I got framed as well, from Stanhope framers. I've been waiting to frame this stuff for forever.

Let�s not forget that I spent some money to upgrade to 10.3 for my �puter and got iLife too, all so I could get GarageBand, which, although I�ve only recorded one song so far, makes me very, very happy because it works.

Pretty soon, I'll have no money. I know this day has been coming--I've known it since I filed my taxes.

But when I planned all of this out--and I've gotten this all done in a pace rivaling the super-rich, mind you, I allotted a few extra bucks for frivolity.

I'm still under budget in that category.

It�s just amazing how much I�ve been able to do over the past few weeks. But it makes sense--I�ve stored up and prioritized all of these things that I need in order to move on and do better things. I get some extra money from my tax return, and all of a sudden things are starting to fall into place.

Pretty soon I can have a new list of things that I need--never extravagant. Always practical. Always pay off debt first. Always work towards the greater plan.

But if I need a bass guitar, and I can get one used for $150, even though I already have an acoustic bass guitar (what a bad purchase), I�m going to get a $150 bass guitar.

And if I haven�t had a new pair of glasses for what, four years? And if I can�t see the numbers on the bus anymore from three blocks away, and if my lenses are scratched up and the frame is lopsided to the point of minor embarrassment, and if I happen to have a few extra bucks? Know what? I�m getting awesome glasses (or at least I hope I am).

It feels so good to have a little bit of money.

I am such a whore.

But it doesn�t matter--that�s what I�m trying to say. It�s weird--every now and then I have a little extra money and when I do, I�ve been taking care of future me. And settling past me�s bar tabs.

I�m really proud of that and it makes me happy. It makes me happy over and over again to make good decisions.

I wish I had the resources to do more for all of the little projects I�d like to get going.

But you know what? If you have more money than you know what to do with, you either have too much money or you have no idea what you want to do.

If I run out of money tomorrow and I have just enough to keep me going (please note, keep me going is what I�ve been doing anyway--rent, smokes, PBR, and $3.15 Bombay Club or $4 subs from Al�s for lunch), and I have all of the stuff I�ve gotten to set myself up, I�ll be pretty psyched.

I can�t wait to lay down a killah bass track down with my new Paul McCartney bass, that I got �cause I�m recording again, using the mic and tube pre-amp I�ve finally paid off, using the computer I just made a big payment on, using the new operating system I just got so that I could run the new software I just purchased.

It actually works this time, and it�s gonna be so sweet.


Listening to: Sebadoh
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie