2004-03-13 - 11:53 p.m.

Mittens Mittens Mittens Mittens.

I don�t know why everyone on the planet does not love this band.

At the moment--the moment, mind you--at the moment it goes GBV, Robyn, and Mittens. The cab driver on the way home knows.

At the YMCA (where the ex- had her play), and a benefit for the Berwick, and a sliding scale and we paid the max because we miss the Berwick, the Roommate and I, and it felt like a failed prom there and we snuck up to the balcony and had the best possible seats to see Yo La Tengo seating, a prom where only the coolest were invited but of that subset only the losers of the coolest showed �cause the rest were too cool except for the leaders cause they have to show, but that was unimportant �cause it doesn�t matter who comes to see a band, it�s the band I came to see and I knew all of their songs, and it wasn�t like I was getting rocked out by dudes, like I was a teen rocking out to Nelson, and it was just me and Mittens, the best band in the world.

The Mittens are the best band in the world in that they are not anywhere near close to being the best band in the world (Flaming Lips, by the way), but that�s why it�s so great to see the Mittens at the YMCA to an indifferent audience and all I can do is hope they stay at it.


Listening to: Mittens
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie